Curiosity Corner: Location, location, location | Curiosity corners


A large landmass on the earth is considered a continent.

There is no standard definition of the number of continents, but in general we are taught that there are seven: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America. In Europe and elsewhere, it is taught that there are six, with North America and South America being considered one continent, simply called “America”.

Let’s take a quiz to see what you know about geography and continents. We will use seven.

You might want to pull out a world map!

1. Greenland is part of which continent?

2. The equator crosses which continents?

3. The South Pole is on which continent?

4. The North Pole is on which continent?

5. The internal date line (IDL) goes through which continent?

6. The deepest point on earth is the Dead Sea. What continent is it on?

7. Hawaii is part of which continent?

8. Panama is part of which continent?

9. Egypt is part of which continent?

10. Turkey is part of which continent?

CPS (curious postscript): “Bad habits are like a comfortable bed, easy to get to but hard to get out of.” – Anonymous

Curious about something? Send your questions to Dr Jerry D. Wilson, College of Science and Mathematics, Lander University, Greenwood, SC 29649, or email [email protected] The selected questions will appear in the curiosity corner. For the background of Curiosity Corner, go to

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.